The West Nordic Council

The West Nordic Council (WNC) is a forum for parliamentary cooperation between the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Iceland. The Council comprises 18 Members of Parliament, six from each country. A three-member Presidium, consisting of one member from each delegation, administers the Council’s work and activities between the annual general meetings. The presidency rotates annually between the representatives in the Presidium. The Council may also establish working committees on individual issues or policy areas.

The Council was formed in Nuuk, Greenland, on 24 September 1985. Its secretariat, located from the beginning within the office of the Parliament of Iceland, was established in 1997. The Secretary General of the Council manages the office and oversees day-to-day operations.

The WNC convenes twice every year: for an annual general meeting in late summer, and a theme conference in late January. The countries rotate hosting the meetings.

The annual general meeting is the Council’s supreme authority, electing the Presidium and President until the next meeting is held. The annual general meeting’s agenda can include any issue of relevance to the cooperation. The Council may adopt resolutions that are submitted to one or more of the national parliaments.

The Council’s theme conferences are focused on a particular issue to be discussed at an open conference. These annual conferences are held alternately in the three countries and include lectures on the featured theme. The conventions are open to the public.

The West Nordic Council is actively involved in international cooperation. The Council participates as observer in the Arctic Council and the Standing Committee of the Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region (SCPAR). The WNC cooperates closely with the Nordic Council, and the Council meets annually with the European Parliament’s DEEA delegation. The Council’s delegates also attend the Northern Dimension Parliamentary Forum, held every other year, and are active participants in Arctic Circle meetings.

The West Nordic Council also cooperates closely with the parliaments and governments of the three countries, NORA (the regional cooperation programme of the Nordic Council of Ministers) and the West Nordic Loan Fund.

The West Nordic Council’s Children and Youth Literature Prize is awarded every second year. The jury, appointed by the West Nordic Council, nominates literary works and selects the winner. The price-winning author is awarded DKK 60,000.

The West Nordic Council’s Presidium

The West Nordic Council’s work and activities is organised and led by the Presidium, consisting of three representatives from the member delegations.

The Iceland delegation

The Iceland delegation of the West Nordic Council is appointed by the Parliament of Iceland.

Steinunn Þóra Árnadóttir
Delegation Chair

Eyjólfur Ármannsson
Delegation vice-chair
Flokkur fólksins
Þórarinn Ingi Pétursson
Kristrún Frostadóttir
Þorbjörg Sigríður Gunnlaugsdóttir

Asmundur Fridriksson
Ásmundur Friðriksson
  • Halla Signý Kristjánsdóttir, Framsóknarflokkurinn
  • Hildur Sverrisdóttir, Sjálfstæðisflokkurinn
  • Jakob Frímann Magnússon, Flokkur fólksins
  • Logi Einarsson, Samfylkinging
  • Orri Páll Jóhannsson, Vinstri-Græn
  • Guðbrandur Einarsson, Viðreisn

The Faroe Islands delegation

The Faroe Islands delegation of the West Nordic Council is appointed by the Faroese Parliament.

Jenis av Rana
Delegation Chair

Henrik Old
Delegation Vice-Chair
Bárður á Lakjunni

Eyðdis Hartmann Niclasen

Erling Eidesgaard
Karlot Hergeirsson


  • Uni Holm Johannesen, Javnaðarflokkurin
  • Magnus Rasmussen, Sambandsflokkurin
  • Jørgen Niclasen, Fólkaflokkurin
  • Steffan Klein Poulsen, Miðflokkurin
  • Annika Olsen, Tjóðveldi
  • Sólvit E Nolsø, Framsókn

The Greenland delegation

The Greenland delegation of the West Nordic Council is appointed by Inatsisartut – the Parliament of Greenland.

Kim Kielsen
Delegation Chair
Doris J. Jensen
Delegation Vice-Chair
Siverth K. Heilmann
Mariia Simonsen
Inuit Ataqatigiit
Emanuel Nûko

Harald Bianco
Inuit Ataqatigiit

  • Agathe Fontain, Inuit Ataqatigiit
  • Mala Høy Kúko, Siumut
  • Aqqalu Jeremiassen, Atassut
  • Paneeraq Olsen, Naleraq
  • Hans Aronsen, Inuit Ataqatigiit
  • Anders Olsen, Siumut